Back to Writing (and Everything Else I’ve Grossly Neglected the Past Few Months)

Hello. It’s been a while (again). I’m a bit out of practice with writing right now, so please pardon my awkward voice in this post. In case you have forgotten me, my name is Iris, and the past month marked my last month as a college undergrad student. This past semester was a colossal whirlwind, and I still can’t believe it is over. Nevertheless, it is over, and so here I am, back at home with a generous lump of time on my hands.

The semester went so fast that I didn’t have nearly the time I wanted to dedicate to my blog. Furthermore, the poetry and drawing classes I was taking drained me of most of my creative energy. I am sad to say that I left this blog to hibernate without warning. However, I’m back now, and I’m going to make some changes to ensure that I never leave you again.

I’m not doing much of anything formally this summer. I’ve decided to kick it elementary school style this summer and not do anything at all. People have advised me that this will help me avoid feeling burned out in grad school. As a result, I will have plenty of time to write quality, substantial, and hopefully entertaining blog posts for your enjoyment in a timely manner. I’m hoping to put myself back into the habit of writing every single day (or at the very, very least, once a week) so that when things get busy in the fall, I’ll still be able to recharge my batteries through writing. Also, I’m enrolling in Blogging 101, which will help push me along in the beginning of this quest.

I’m also going to try to keep drawing, and I hope to be able to illustrate some of my posts. Norm agreed to take an oil painting class with me this summer which will finally give me the chance to learn to paint, so maybe this blog will get some color to it, too. The camera on my phone isn’t working currently, so my photography will have to take a backseat for a while, but that’s okay.

Finally, I’m going to get back into reading your blogs again. I miss hearing about what is going on in your lives and gaining perspective from the ideas you share. I miss looking at your artsy photographs of nature and pictures of your adorable pets. I miss being connected with you.

So, yeah, I have big plans for the following weeks. This post is mainly just a preview and practice to get me back into the swing of writing personal essays. Thanks for your patience, and I’ll see you soon.

Love,

Iris

This entry was posted in My life, Quickies (Less than 500 words) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back to Writing (and Everything Else I’ve Grossly Neglected the Past Few Months)

  1. Glad to see you back, Iris! You were missed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emily says:

    Wow I just stumbled across your blog and I’m really glad to have found it! It gives me such perspective as I just finished up my freshman year of college. I’m really trying to get back into writing, so I started my blog… Yesterday. Lol. Anyway, I just wanted to stop by and say hi 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back! Blogging 101 sounds awesome! Look forward to more posts from you soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Iris says:

      Thanks, Wynona!! It’s good to be back, and I can’t wait to catch up on all your posts. Yeah, I’m really excited about Blogging 101. You should do it with me! =)

      Like

  4. Tara says:

    Good luck, Iris! Here’s to your “kicking it elementary school style!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

