A Happy Ending

Here's to hoping my art skills improve beyond this a bit this semester

Here’s to hoping my art skills improve beyond this a bit this semester

It’s been a while since I posted last, but I can assure you it has been for the better. I’ve been feeling a lot of angst over the past few months, and it has been materializing not so subtly in my writing. I’ve still been writing because I needed the outlet, but none of it was postable. I wrote a post right before the holidays about whether “Merry Christmas” is okay to say, but after rereading it, I noticed that it had dark, accusing undertones at the beginning that developed into a full-blown, passionately furious rant towards Christians, holidays, retail, the general public, myself, among other things. This tended to be the trend over the winter holiday.

However, as the title implies, all of this is coming to a happy ending. A very, very happy ending, and things are looking so up that I’m getting a crick in my neck. A happy crick.

I officially have a future. Remember that school in the Midwest that mentioned in a post way back, entitled I might not be good enough? Well, a week ago, I woke up to an unbelievably exciting surprise in the form of an official offer of acceptance into their chemistry Ph.D. program! This was my number one choice for graduate school, and they accepted me. This is the best possible scenario of events for my future, and I honestly cannot express how excited I am without using an obnoxious amount of exclamation points and smiley faces. This will have to do: =D =D !!!!!

I’m on the road to becoming an artist. This may be an exaggeration, but I’ve always wanted to do some sort of art, and so this semester I signed up for an introductory drawing class. I’m really excited about this because I’ve always been envious of those people who could doodle in the margins of their notes during class and actually make something other than lopsided triangles and spirals. Plus, it will give me another outlet to dealing with my anxiety and depression, and I’ll be able to illustrate my posts. That is, if I’m actually able to draw, but I’m irrationally optimistic about my abilities.

Also on the road to becoming a poet. So I already consider myself a poet because I write poetry pretty often, have taken poetry classes, and won a few modest awards for my poetry, but I signed up for an advanced poetry class this semester that’ll help me improve my poetry skills so I can be, like, a real poet. Or at least a better acting poet.

Also on the road to becoming a morning person. You may remember my post entitled I’m Addicted to Sleep or the one entitled I’m Still Addicted to Sleep. If so, you’ll remember that I have a horrible problem with oversleeping. For that reason, I purposely signed up for the drawing class section that is Mondays and Wednesdays 8 to 11 in the morning. I also made arrangements to be in lab for research Tuesdays and Thursdays at 8 in the morning. If I’m forced to wake up early four days a week (I figure I can give myself Fridays off), this will keep me from oversleeping and get me back in the habit of waking up early and getting things done. I never have a problem waking up early if it’s for something I absolutely have to do, so this is a good step in the right direction for me.

I’m starting a brand spanking new research project. If you remember my second most recent post, entitled Just Some Goals for the End of the Year, you may remember that one of them was for me to make progress with a research project that wasn’t really going anywhere. Well, unfortunately that project had to be put on the back burner indefinitely because an instrument in my lab is totaled and the parts are being scrapped. However, I’m starting a new project this semester, tomorrow actually, on something entirely new. I’m really excited to have a fresh start, and my super ambitious goal is to make enough headway with it by the end of the semester to maybe get published in a journal or something. Like I said, this is incredibly ambitious because a semester is a short time, and I have no experience with this topic, but you got to dream big, right?

This is the last semester of my undergraduate career (assuming I don’t fail anything). After this semester, it will be goodbye college and hello grad school, which happens to also be at a college… But it will be a whole difference scenery, and I won’t be surrounded by frat boys or sorority girls or people who only care about partying and getting laid. I won’t be stuck in the rut of obsessing over grades. I’ll be surrounded by people who actually care about their education enough to pursue it as a career, and I’ll be able to focus on doing meaningful research, getting undergraduates (aka, my minions hehehe) excited about chemistry, and being a pseudo-adult. I’ll miss this place, but not really that much.

Miranda July’s new novel will be on my doorstep tomorrow. On December 3rd, I received an exciting email from the author herself (it was a mass newsletter, but still…) announcing that her novel that I never even knew she had been writing is being released January 13th. If you’ve never read July’s writings, I highly recommend any one of her short stories because they are fantastically written and really speak to the reader on a deep, personal level. I pre-ordered her book on Amazon, which means that it is being delivered to my doorstep tomorrow, and I cannot wait. I still have 60 pages of Angela’s Ashes to burn through first, but I can probably get that taken care of tonight. Angela’s Ashes is another fantastic book that I can’t recommend yet because I haven’t finished it, but it is incredibly captivating so far and really speaks a lot about the Irish community in the 1930s and 1940s.

To summarize, it seems like almost every single one of the problems I’ve been complaining about at the end of last year is somehow working itself out. This is a really exciting time for me, and I’m incredibly optimistic about things.  Thank you, readers, for your constant support.  It means so much to me, and I look forward to more intimate conversations with you in the coming weeks.

This entry was posted in Academics, My life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

