I’m Still Addicted to Sleep (But It’s Getting Better)

A few weeks ago, I wrote about my sleep addiction. After posting it, I noticed that it got a lot of views from search engines. This made me feel bad because my post mostly just consisted of whining about how difficult it was to overcome, how lazy it made me, and how much I just loved laying in bed instead of doing stuff. These people were probably looking for answers or anything of some substance, and they were only let down by my post. To sort of make up for that, this time I’m going to write about some things that have helped me to deal with it on a short-term scale.

Time-programmable coffee-maker. It turns out, my cheap, 3-year-old coffee maker with 3 buttons on it is time-programmable, which is super excited, so I started programming it to brew my coffee around the time I want to get up. It’s a lot easier to get up in the morning when I know that coffee is only a room away. Normally, this isn’t enough to get me up by the time I want to get up, but since the coffeemaker shuts off after two hours, I’m forced to get up before then to get hot coffee. The same thing applies for tea drinkers with an electric kettle. To anyone who doesn’t require caffeine to be alive, I hate you.

Turn up the heat so the air isn’t frigid. I hate turning up the heat in my apartment because I love saving a few extra cents wherever I can, but it is so much easier to get out of a warm bed when the air isn’t twenty degrees colder.

Make a list of reasons to get out of bed. Write them on a sticky note the night before, and stick the note somewhere where you can see it, like on a lamp or your alarm. Inspirational quotes are also good.

Put your phone or alarm clock on the other side of the room. You’ll absolutely have to get up to turn it off, and it’ll be easier to stay up, then. However, make sure that your alarm doesn’t automatically go to snooze after a minute or it’ll be easy to just wait it out.

Drink a lot of water right before you go to sleep. A lot of water. The urge to pee in the morning will force you to get out of bed and into the bathroom to start your morning routine.

 These short-term fixes might help make the addiction bearable, but they won’t cure it. The only way to cure a sleep addiction is to figure out the cause of it and fix that. Don’t just go after the symptom. For me personally, I believe the cause is my depression, and I’m still trying to figure out a way to address it. There are all sorts of other potential factors, such as medication, nutritional deficits, stress, the changing seasons or pattern of the sun, or a physical illness. Once you figure out what it is that is causing your addiction, you can work on finding a way to combat it. Some of these problems can be long, difficult, and often complicated struggles, and so my quick fixes might be helpful in the meantime for getting you out of bed.

If you have any tips you use to get out of bed in the morning, please let me know in the comments. Also, if you’ve stumbled on this post after searching for remedies for sleep addiction, I really hope this is helpful. Personally, it is still a struggle every single day, and I’m nowhere close to finding the perfect cure or to being qualified to give advice on the matter. I’m just sharing what works for me in the hopes that it will help someone else.

This entry was posted in Depression, Life in general, Mental Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

